Our patrons provide invaluable guidance and encouragement and we are thankful for their ongoing support.

Professor Lionel Carter

Professor of Marine Geology at Victoria University of Wellington 

Roger Dennis

Consultant: innovation, foresight, transformation

Sue Elliott

Chair of the Wellington Sculpture Trust and strategic communications adviser

Dr Bronwyn Hayward

Associate Professor and Head of Department, Political Science and International Relations, UC

Professor Mark Henaghan

Dean of the Faculty of Law at University of Otago

Dr Carwyn Jones

Senior Lecturer in the Faculty of Law at Victoria University of Wellington

Dr Girol Karacaoglu

Head of the School of Government at Victoria University of Wellington

Todd Krieble

Principal Economist, New Zealand Institute of Economic Research

Elaina Lauaki-Vea

Royal Commission into Abuse in Care

Dr Ella Lawton

Otago Polytechnic Centre for Sustainable Practice

Conal Smith Image

Trevor Moeke

Director, Strategic Adviser, Co Chair at Te Mangai Paho (TMP)

Bill Moran

Previously worked for New Zealand Treasury

Alison Nevill

Alison has been working part time for the McGuinness Institute since 2011

Dame Dr Claudia Orange

Head of Research, Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa

James Palmer

Strategic Development Group Manager, Hawkes Bay Regional Council

Michelle Pawson

Principal Advisor, Policy Innovation and Strategy, Public Service

Neville Peat

Writer and environmentalist

Mike Reid

Principal Adviser at Local Government New Zealand

Dame Diane Robertson

Chair, The Data Futures Partnership Working Group

Conal Smith Image

Conal Smith

Senior economist at the OECD

Dr J. Morgan Williams

Principal, FutureSteps

The late Sir Paul Callaghan

The late Jan Lee Martin

Conal Smith Image

The late Kevin Simpkins




Our patrons provide invaluable guidance and encouragement and we are thankful for their ongoing support.

The Team


The Institute employs graduates, academics and young professionals from a range of disciplines. The team currently consists of full-time and part-time staff, with backgrounds in English, commerce, philosophy, politics, history and design. Our diverse backgrounds and standpoints allow us to integrate different knowledge bases and disciplines in order to engage with the complex issues that are the focus of our research. We are particularly interested in gathering varying viewpoints by creating meaningful connections with other groups interested in pursuing a vision for New Zealand. 

Wendy McGuinness

Chief Executive

Reuben Brady

Head of Research

Arne Larson

Research Assistant

Lauren Boot

Research Assistant

Sophie Wells


Dana King


Madison Crisp

Office Administrator

Anna Kissock

Office Administrator


Conal Smith Image

Harry (Black Pudding)

Office dog