

Day 1 - Part One: Tuesday 28th August 2012

Time	Task	Speakers and Guests
8.00am	Participants arrive at Parliament	
8.30am	Pōwhiri	Kura Moeahu and Carwyn Jones lead the Pōwhiri
8.45am	Wendy McGuinness – welcome – thanks our host, speakers, facilitators and participants (10 mins) (to be filmed)	Wendy McGuinness
8.55am	Paul Goldsmith speaks – welcomes participants to parliament and introduces Hon. Jim McLay (5 mins) (to be filmed)	1. Paul Goldsmith MP (National)
9.00am	Keynote speaker (40 mins plus 20 mins questions) (to be filmed)	2. Hon. Jim McLay: New Zealand's Last Constitutional Crisis
10.00am	Context-setting speakers: Two 15 minute presentations and 15 minutes at the end of the session for questions (45 mins) (to be filmed)	 Sir Tipene O'Regan, of Ngāi Tahu, co-chair of the Constitutional Advisory Panel 2011-13: <i>The Importance of the</i> <i>Review</i> Hon. Peter Dunne, Chair of the Inquiry to review New Zealand's existing constitutional arrangements 2004-05: <i>The Lessons from the</i> <i>Inquiry</i>
10.45am	Morning tea break (30 minutes)	
11.15am	Context-setting speakers: Two 15 minute presentations and 15 minutes at the end of the session for questions (45 mins) (to be filmed)	 5. Professor Philip Joseph, Canterbury University: The Key Elements of a Constitution 6. Dame Dr Claudia Orange, Te Papa Tongarewa: Why a Constitutional Conversation is Important?

12.00pm	START OF GROUP WORK Step 1 : "Framing the Mission: the Purpose of our Constitution and its Audience" (30 mins)	Facilitators lead workshopi.Dean Knight (Lead)ii.Carwyn Jonesiii.Diane Whiteiv.Mihiata Piriniv.Natalie Coatesvi.Edward Willisvii.Marcelo RodriguezFerrereviii.viii.Jess Birdsall-Day
12.30pm	Lunch break (30 minutes)	
1.00pm	Step 1 (cont.) Step 2 : "Expressing the Vision: the Imagery and Values of our Constitution" (120 mins)	Facilitators
3.00pm	Afternoon tea break (15 minutes)	
3.15pm	Step 3 : "Identifying the Elements: the Chapters and Themes of our Constitution" (55 mins)	Facilitators
4.10pm	Designers present two/three concepts, one of which will be further developed. (10 mins)	Gillian McCarthy (Lead Designer); Machiko Niimi; Katy Miller
4.20pm	Step 3 (cont.) (40 mins)	
5.00pm	Facilitators Meeting – Participants take an hour break till 6.00pm dinner (50 mins)	Facilitators only

Day 1 - Part Two: Tuesday 28th August 2012

Time	Task	Speakers and Guests
6.00pm	Dinner at the Grand Hall, Parliament. This is a working dinner where guests sit at tables with participants to help resolve hot issues identified earlier in the day. (speakers to be filmed)	7. Emeritus Professor John Burrows, co-chair of the Constitutional Advisory Panel: <i>Building a</i> <i>Constitution for the</i> <i>Future</i>
	The eight facilitators answer eight challenging constitutional questions written by Hon. Justice Joe Williams (who is unable to attend on the night) (speakers to be filmed) Guests leave about 10.00pm (240mins)	 Te Ururoa Flavell, MP and Member of the Cross-party Reference Group: <i>The Importance</i> of Group? Hon. Justice Joseph Williams questions for the facilitators: <i>Eight</i> <i>Challenging Questions</i>
10.00pm	Opportunity for resumption of group work into evening at both accommodation locations.	Participants and facilitators

Day Two - Part Three: Wednesday 29th August 2012

Time	Task	Speakers and Guests
8.00am	Participants arrive at Parliament	
8.15am	Housekeeping and Mai Chen introduced (15 mins)	Wendy McGuinness Dean Knight (Lead Facilitator)
8.30am	Setting the Context (20 mins plus 10 mins questions) (to be filmed) (30 mins)	10. Mai Chen: Why we need youth to engage in this discussion?
9.00am	Step 4: "Shaping the Elements: the Text and Body of our Constitution"(120 mins)	Facilitators
11.00am	Participants photo (Mark Tantrum) (10 mins)	Participants and facilitators
11.10am	Morning tea break (20 mins)	
11.30am	Cross-Party Reference Group Members' Panel. Panel discussion to be chaired by Te Ururoa Flavell MP <u>Process:</u> MPs speak for 3-5 minutes in response to the pre-set question and then move from the stage to join participants at their tables. As there are seven tables, Dame Dr Claudia Orange and Professor Philip Joseph will also join in. There is a small possibility that Hon Peter Dunne MP and Hone Harawira MP may also attend. (60 mins)	 11. Te Ururoa Flavell – Māori Party MP 12. Paul Goldsmith – National MP 13. Charles Chauvel – Labour MP 14. Metiria Turei, Co-leader – Green MP Pre-set question: <i>Is the</i> <i>description of our</i> <i>constitution, as set out in</i> <i>the Cabinet Manual 2008,</i> <i>an adequate compass for</i> <i>the 21st century?</i>
12.30pm	Lunch break (30 mins)	
1.00pm	Step 4 (continued) (105 mins)	Facilitators
2.45pm	Designers present final concept (15 mins)	Gillian McCarthy (Lead Designer); Machiko Niimi; Katy Miller
3.00pm	Afternoon tea break (15 mins)	
3.15pm	Step 4 (continued) Step 5 : "Showcasing the Product: our Constitution, our Journey, our Reflections" (75 mins)	Facilitators
4.30pm	The room is cleared to set up for the Finale (Preparation for the Finale continues). (90mins) END OF GROUP WORK	Facilitators

Day Two - Part Four: Wednesday 29th August 2012

Time	Task	Speakers and Guests
6.00pm	Finale Speeches start at 6.20 Presentation of a draft constitution for the 21 st century.	 15. Wendy McGuinness 16. Paul Goldsmith MP 17. Dean Knight (Lead Facilitator) 18. Participants present their draft constitution
		Closing Speaker: 19. Dame Dr Claudia Orange (Te Papa)
7.15pm –	Guests leave with a hard copy of the Draft Constitution. Drinks. (180 mins)	Closes 9.00pm
9.00pm		