

Cabinet Environment, Energy and Climate Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Biogenic Methane Reductions Required Under the Climate Change Bill

Portfolio Climate Change

On 2 May 2019, the Cabinet Environment, Energy and Climate Committee, having been authorised by Cabinet to have Power to Act [CAB-19-MIN-0189]:

- noted that on 19 December 2018, the Cabinet Environment, Energy and Climate Committee agreed that the Climate Change Bill will set a greenhouse gas missions reduction target for New Zealand to achieve:
 - 1.1 net zero emissions for all greenhouse gases except biogenic methane, by 2050;
 - a reduction in emissions of biogenic methan (including, if necessary, to net zero) by 2050;

[ENV-18-MIN-0053]

- agreed that the biogenic componint of the 2050 target (paragraph 1.2 above) will:
 - 2.1 require a reduction in gross emissions of biogenic methane within the range of 24-47 percent below 2017 levels by 2050;
 - include an interim requirement to reduce gross emissions of biogenic methane to 10 percent below 2017 levels by 2030;
- agreed that the Climate Change Commission will review all aspects of the 2050 target in conjunction with its advice on the fourth emissions budget in 2024, including the reduction of biogenic m thane emissions required by 2030;
- 4 **noted** that the Climate Change Commission will make recommendations on all targets from 2024, and that future governments will have the opportunity to revise the targets;
- **noted** that consequential amendments to other parts of the Climate Change Bill may be required as a result of paragraphs 2 and 3 above;
- 6 **noted** that a communications plan for the announcement of the target settings and the introduction of the Climate Change Bill will be developed and consulted on.

Vivien Meek Committee Secretary

Hard-copy distribution (see over)

Present:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern Rt Hon Winston Peters Hon Kelvin Davis Hon Dr Megan Woods Hon David Parker (Chair) Hon Stuart Nash Hon James Shaw Hon Eugenie Sage

Hard-copy distribution:

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for ENV

