FINET OF AT

Cabinet Business Committee

Minute of Decision

McGuinness Institute title: [CBC-21-MIN-0057] Proposals for Phase-outs of Certain Hardto-recycle Plastics and Singleuse Items

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Proposals for Phase-outs of Certain Hard-to-recycle Plastics and Singleuse Items

Portfolio Environment

On 14 June 2021, the Cabinet Business Committee:

- 1 **noted** that:
 - 1.1 in July 2020, the Cabinet Environment, Energy and Climate Committee (ENV) agreed to the release of a consultation document including two proposals to phase-out certain hard-to-recycle and single-use plastics [ENV-20-MIN-0027];
 - 1.2 public consultation was undertaken during August to December 2020, with the majority of submitters supporting the proposals;
- 2 **agreed** that regulations be developed under the Waste Minimisation Act 2008 to prohibit the sale and manufacture of the following products that contain the materials specified as the targeted plastic:

Targeted plastic	Proposed timeframe
PVC food and beverage packaging	Staged approach: (1) Meat trays by October 2022 and (2) all other PVC food and beverage packaging by July 2025
Polystyrene food and beverage packaging	Staged approach: (1) All polystyrene takeaway packaging and expanded polystyrene grocery packaging by October 2022 and (2) all other rigid polystyrene by July 2025
Degradable plastic products (plastic products containing pro-degradants to accelerate fragmentation including oxo and photodegradable)	October 2022
Plastic drink stirrers	October 2022
Plastic stemmed cotton-buds	October 2022
Single-use plastic produce bags	July 2023
Plastic tableware (plates/bowls/cutlery)	July 2023
Plastic straws (with exemptions to be drafted in consultation with disability organisations)	July 2023
Non-compostable produce labels	July 2023

IN CONFIDENCE

- 3 **invited** the Minister for the Environment to issue drafting instructions to the Parliamentary Counsel Office to draft regulations to implement the decisions in paragraph 2 above, under section 23(1)(b) of the Waste Minimisation Act 2008;
- 4 **noted** that officials will seek technical input from a selected group of stakeholders through an exposure draft process;
- 5 **authorised** the Minister for the Environment to further clarify and develop the policy decisions set out above, including minor and technical matters and details of exemptions, in line with the policy decisions agreed by Cabinet;
- 6 **noted** that the Ministry for the Environment will work with sectors to support the transition to sustainable alternatives including development of communications and awareness campaign and implementation guidance;
- 7 **noted** that a phase-out of plastic straws will have population impacts for disabled people;
- 8 **noted** that the Ministry for the Environment will work closely with disability organisations to draft appropriate exemptions that allow access to plastic straws for those who require them;
- 9 **noted** that the Ministry for the Environment will undertake additional work with sector experts to come up with a phase-out plan for single-use plastic cups and their lids (including coffee cups) and wet wipes;
- 10 **noted** that the Ministry for the Environment will undertake additional work to provide advice on expanded polystyrene cold-chain and protective packaging;
- 11 **invited** the Minister for the Environment to report back to ENV in June 2022 with updates on the items listed in paragraphs 9 and 10 above;
- 12 **approved** the public release of the Summary of Submissions, attached under CBC-21-SUB-0057;
- 13 **authorised** the Minister for the Environment to make further minor changes to the Summary of Submissions including final editing and design prior to publication.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

Present:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern (Chair) Hon Grant Robertson Hon Kelvin Davis Hon Dr Megan Woods Hon Chris Hipkins Hon Carmel Sepuloni Hon Andrew Little Hon David Parker Hon Nanaia Mahuta Hon Michael Wood **Officials present from:** Office of the Prime Minister Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet