

Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

McGuinness Institute title: [LEG-23-MIN-0018] Climate Change (Eligible Industrial Activities) Amendment Regulations 2023

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Climate Change (Eligible Industrial Activities) Amendment Regulations 2023

Portfolio Climate Change

On 16 March 2023, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- noted that in 2018, the Cabinet Environment, Energy and Climate Committee authorised the Minister of Climate Change, in consultation with relevant Ministers, to make adjustments to the allocation level for the New Zealand Aluminium Smelter Limited (NZAS) to reflect the New Zealand Emissions Trading Scheme (NZ ETS) costs to NZAS from electricity consumption without referring to Cabinet, except where the financial or policy implications are significant enough to warrant Cabinet consideration [ENV-18-MIN-0051];
- 2 **noted** that:
 - 2.1 the Minister of Climate Change has agreed the allocative baseline for 2022 and provisional allocative baselines for 2023 and 2024, in line with the above delegation;
 - 2.2 the Climate Change (Eligible Industrial Activities) Amendment Regulations 2023 give effect to these decisions;
- noted that the amendments must come into effect before 30 April 2023 so that NZAS can apply for its NZ ETS allocation under the industrial allocation provisions of the Climate Change Response Act 2002;
- **authorised** submission to the Executive Council of the Climate Change (Eligible Industrial Activities) Amendment Regulations 2023 [PCO 25334/3.0];
- 5 **noted** that the Climate Change (Eligible Industrial Activities) Amendment Regulations 2023 come into force on 20 April 2023.

Rebecca Davies Committee Secretary

Attendance (see over)

Present:

Hon Grant Robertson Hon Michael Wood Hon David Parker Hon Kieran McAnulty Hon Barbara Edmonds Hon Dr Duncan Webb Hon Willow-Jean Prime Hon James Shaw Tangi Utikere, MP

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for LEG