

# Cabinet Economic Development Committee

## Minute of Decision

McGuinness Institute title: [DEV-21-MIN-0049] National Adaptation Plan: Scope and Approach

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

# National Adaptation Plan: Scope and Approach

Portfolio Climate Change

On 24 March 2021, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee:

### **Background**

- noted that on 16 December 2020, the Cabinet Business Committee invited the Minister of Climate Change to report back in March 2021 on the scope, objectives and process for progressing the proposed Climate Adaptation Act [CBC-20-MIN-0121];
- **noted** that adaptation planning, and the implementation of adaptation actions, is a requirement of New Zealand, as a Party to the Paris Agreement, under its Article 7;
- noted that the government has a statutory obligation under the Climate Change Response Act 2002 to publish the National Adaptation Plan by August 2022;

## Scope of the National Adaptation Plan

- 4 **noted** that:
  - 4.1 the National Climate Change Risk Assessment (the Risk Assessment), published in August 2020, defines 43 risks, 10 of which are classified as most significant;
  - 4.2 there is a statutory obligation for the National Adaptation Plan to respond to (at least) the most significant risks;
- agreed in principle to the 43 risks from the Risk Assessment being in scope for the development of the National Adaptation Plan, subject to further refinement in the action planning phase and after public consultation;
- agreed in principle to the strategic direction of the National Adaptation Plan, attached as Appendix 1 to the paper under DEV-21-SUB-0049, subject to further refinement as a result of engagement and consultation;

# Approach to developing the National Adaptation Plan

7 **noted** that the expertise and levers to address the risks in the Risk Assessment are held across Ministerial portfolios and agencies;

**agreed** that lead agencies will lead the development of outcomes-focused action plans, as outlined the following table:

Outcome-focused action plans	Lead agencies
1 Natural environment	<ul><li>Ministry for the Environment</li><li>Ministry for Primary Industries</li></ul>
2 Homes, buildings and places	<ul> <li>Ministry for Business, Innovation and Employment</li> <li>Te Tūāpapa Kura Kāinga - Ministry of Housing and Urban Development</li> </ul>
3 Infrastructure	Te Waihanga
4 Communities	<ul><li>Department of Internal Affairs</li><li>Te Puni Kokiri</li></ul>
5 Economy and financial system	<ul><li>Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment</li><li>The Treasury</li></ul>

- 9 **noted** that the development and implementation of action plans will require the involvement of many agencies, as outlined in Appendix 3 to the paper under DEV-21-SUB-0049;
- invited the Minister of Climate Change to report back to Cabinet for approval of the draft National Adaptation Plan prior to public consultation;
- noted that the Minister of Climate Change will report back to Cabinet with an oral item to confirm detailed proposals of the role of the Prime Minister's Climate Response Ministerial Group, which is informed by the government's obligations under the Climate Change Response Act 2002 (and includes publishing the National Adaptation Plan);
- noted that agreeing in principle to the strategic direction now also provides the opportunity to explore an indigenous worldview as the lead worldview for developing the National Adaptation Plan;
- 13 **noted** that some of the actions that will be included within the National Adaptation Plan will be funded through existing appropriations, and that others may require additional funding to implement.

Janine Harvey
Committee Secretary

Hard-copy distribution: (see over)

#### Present:

Hon Grant Robertson (Chair)

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon Carmel Sepuloni

Hon Poto Williams

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Willie Jackson

Hon Michael Wood

Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall

Hon Meka Whaitiri

Hon Phil Twyford

Hon James Shaw

Rino Tirikatene, MP

Dr Deborah Russell, MP

#### **Hard-copy distribution:**

Minister of Climate Change

#### Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV

