

Cabinet Economic Policy Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Announcing the Methane Science and Target Review

Portfolios Agriculture / Climate Change

On 27 March 2024, the Cabinet Economic Policy Committee:

- **noted** that the National-ACT coalition agreement includes a commitment to "Maintain a split-gas approach to methane and carbon dioxide through to 2050 and review the methane science and targets in 2024 for consistency with no additional warming from agricultural methane emissions";
- **noted** that the Minister of Agriculture and Minister of Climate Change (the Ministers) intend to undertake a Methane Science and Target Review (the Review) and establish an independent ministerial advisory panel (the Panel) to:
 - 2.1 review the methane science;
 - 2.2 provide evidence-based advice on what the 2050 biogenic methane target should be to ensure no additional warming from biogenic methane;
- noted that the Ministers will progress a two-step process for the Review:
 - 3.1 by 8 April 2024, along with their Associate Ministers, publicly announce that the Review will be progressed and that the Panel will be established;
 - in May 2024, seek Cabinet's approval to initiate the Review and establish the Panel, which will include a clear scope of the Review, the terms of reference, appointees and any other relevant considerations;
- 4 **noted** that as the biogenic methane targets are part of a series of interrelated emissions budgets and targets, any future decisions on the biogenic methane components of the 2050 target are likely to have implications for the wider economy and broader ministerial portfolios.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

Attendance: (see over)

CLASSIFICATION

ECO-24-MIN-0042

Present:

Rt Hon Christopher Luxon

Rt Hon Winston Peters

Hon David Seymour

Hon Nicola Willis (Chair)

Hon Brooke van Velden

Hon Shane Jones

Hon Chris Bishop

Hon Erica Stanford

Hon Judith Collins

Hon Mark Mitchell

Hon Todd McClay

Hon Tama Potaka

Hon Melissa Lee

Hon Penny Simmonds

Hon Chris Penk

Hon Andrew Hoggard

Hon Mark Patterson

Simon Court MP

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for ECO