

Cabinet Appointments and Honours Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Methane Science and Target Review Panel: Appointments

Portfolio Agriculture, Climate Change

On 18 June 2024, the Cabinet Appointments and Honours Committee:

- 1 **noted** that:
 - in April 2024, the Cabinet Economic Policy Committee (ECO) noted the intention of the Minister of Agriculture and the Minister of Climate Change (the Ministers) to establish an independent review panel to undertake a methane science and target review [ECO-24-MIN-0042];
 - in May 2024, ECO agreed to the draft terms of reference and to the review commencing on 30 June 2024, and noted that the Ministers were engaging with Ministerial colleagues on the list of Panel candidates and would report back to APH with their proposals [ECO-24-MIN-0096];
- **noted** that the Ministers intend to appoint the following to the Methane Science and Target Review Panel, for terms commencing on 30 June 2024 and expiring on 30 November 2024:
 - 2.1 Professor Nicola Mary SHADBOLT as Chair;
 - 2.2 Professor David John FRAME as a member;
 - 2.3 Dr Laura REVELL as a member;
 - 2.4 Dr Sara MIKALOFF-FLETCHER as a member;
 - 2.5 Professor William (Bill) COLLINS as a member.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

Attendance (see over)

Present:

Hon David Seymour (Chair)

Hon Nicola Willis

Hon Chris Bishop

Hon Shane Jones

Hon Dr Shane Reti

Hon Paul Goldsmith

Hon Louise Upston

Hon Matt Doocey

Hon Simon Watts

Hon Andrew Bayly

Hon Karen Chhour

Officials present from: