Our patrons provide invaluable guidance and encouragement, and we are thankful for their ongoing support.

Roger Dennis

Consultant: Innovation, foresight, transformation

Sue Elliott

Chair of the Wellington Sculpture Trust and strategic communications adviser

Dr Bronwyn Hayward

Associate Professor and Head of Department, Political Science and International Relations, UC

Professor Mark Henaghan

Dean of the Faculty of Law at University of Otago

Dr Carwyn Jones

Senior Lecturer in the Faculty of Law at Victoria University of Wellington

Hon Nikki Kaye

Director of AUT Ventures, Education and Environment consultant. Former cabinet minister and Member of Parliament. 

Elaina Lauaki-Vea

Royal Commission into Abuse in Care

Dr Ella Lawton

Otago Polytechnic Centre for Sustainable Practice

Conal Smith Image

Trevor Moeke

Director, Strategic Adviser, Co Chair at Te Māngai Pāho (TMP)

Bill Moran

Previously worked for New Zealand Treasury

Lay Wee Ng

Previously worked for the External Reporting Board and the Office of the Auditor-General

Dame Dr Claudia Orange

Head of Research, Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa

Michelle Pawson

Principal Advisor, Policy Innovation and Strategy, Public Service

Neville Peat

Writer and environmentalist

Jessica Prendergast

Foresight Consultant across a range of disciplines and industries, Europe and Asia-Pacific

Mike Reid

Principal Adviser at Local Government New Zealand

Lachlan Rule

Senior Advisor, Just Transitions, Public Service

Dame Diane Robertson

Chair, The Data Futures Partnership Working Group

Conal Smith Image

Conal Smith

Senior economist at the OECD

Dr J. Morgan Williams

Principal, FutureSteps

A special thank you to the following patrons for their significant contributions

The late Sir Paul Callaghan

The late Jan Lee Martin

Conal Smith Image

The late Kevin Simpkins


Thank you also to patrons who are no longer actively involved with the Institute’s work, but fortunately remain friends of the Institute: Alison Nevill, Lionel Carter, Todd Krieble and James Palmer.

The team

The Institute employs graduates, academics and young professionals from a range of disciplines. The team currently consists of full-time and part-time staff, with backgrounds in English, commerce, philosophy, politics, history and design. Our diverse backgrounds and standpoints allow us to integrate different knowledge bases and disciplines in order to engage with the complex issues that are the focus of our research. We are particularly interested in gathering varying perspectives by creating meaningful connections with other groups interested in pursuing a vision for New Zealand. 

Wendy McGuinness

Chief Executive
Download resume

Josie McGuinness

Senior Research Analyst 

Paddy Shonakan

Senior Research Analyst

Arne Larsen

Senior Research Analyst

Eilish Cartysquires

Senior Research Analyst

Helena Palmer

Intermediate Research Analyst

Conal Smith Image

Molly Woods

Research Analyst


Dana King


Lauren Hynd


Anna Kissock

Office Administrator

Conal Smith Image

Harry (Black Pudding)

Office dog